Maine Hunting Forums

Skinny Moose Media Black Bear Blog Blogging Outdoors Daily Bag Limit Desert Rat - AZ
Audio Pod Casts Video V Casts
Outpost Home
About Us Permanent Staff Contact Us Employment Opportunities
Maine Home U.S. Hunting Today U.S. Hunting Forums

Go Back   Maine Hunting Forums > Hunting > Deer
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Arcade Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Deer In Maine we love the White Tail but this forum is open to all species of deer and exotics.

Old 10-15-2008, 05:02 PM

Default The Rut?

I was wondering when the rut ushually takes place. i have read a little about the central states like Kansas and i figured that our deer rut ushualy takes place around nov. 14th or so. i have been hunting this one area for 4 yrs or so and never really see much buck activity such as scrapes or rubs. my friends have shot a few bucks out of the same area. i ushually hunt for meat but this year i want horns! can you guys help me out with this?
Old 10-15-2008, 07:26 PM

What sort of help are you interested in? Try to answer any specific questions and I'm sure other guys will as well.
Old 10-16-2008, 12:33 PM

when does the rut ushually take place in central maine. ex winslow,fairfield, waterville areas?
Old 10-16-2008, 07:08 PM

I have been in rut for about35 years
Old 10-16-2008, 07:43 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by mainehunter4992 View Post
when does the rut ushually take place in central maine. ex winslow,fairfield, waterville areas?
Well, that depends on who you believe. Familiar with Charles Alsheimer? He has an interesting theory. Others claim it is always the same weeks every year.

Safest thing to do is watch for increased deer movements. When you start seeing bucks crossing the road, standing in a field during daylight hours when they usually would not, deer/car collisions...it's time to hit the woods.